Something (which I’ll go into later) reminded me of this article:

As essential as change is to renew life, most of us resist it and cling rigidly to old survival systems because they are familiar and “seem” safer. In reality, even if an old, obsolete survival system makes us feel alone, isolated, fearful, uninspired, unappreciated, and unloved, we will reason that it’s easier to cope with what we know than with what we haven’t yet experienced. As a result, most of us will fight to sustain destructive relationships, unchallenging jobs, unproductive work, harmful addictions, unhealthy environments, and immature behavior long after there is any sign of life or value in them.

This unyielding commitment to old, exhausted survival systems that have outlived their usefulness, and resistance to the rejuvenating energy of new, evolving levels of existence and consciousness is what I refer to as the fatal flaw of character.

The FATAL FLAW is a struggle within a character to maintain a survival system long after it has outlived its usefulness.

It’s a good article; go read it.

The precipitating event to remembering this piece, though, came from a cycle from real life:

  • I take on too much
  • I procrastinate
  • As a result, all (figurative) hell breaks loose close to deadlines.

I gotta stop doing this. It’s one of my many fatal flaws, which is going to come back to bite me if and when I ever try to get a book published.

This time turned out better because this time I saw what happened and took steps to prevent the usual multi-faceted meltdown: I backed out of two things where my contribution wasn’t vital, and I quit procrastinating on the two things that only I can do.

In a week or so we’ll see if that was good enough.

