I hadn’t stopped by Joe Konrath’s blog in a while, but I found this article he wrote a few weeks ago very helpful:

One Book at a Time

Here’s a quote from one of the commenters that was particularly telling: “Authors have been griping for years that it is the publisher’s job to sell books. But when that happens, 4 out of 5 books fail.” In other words, if you want to do it right, you better do it yourself.

Marketing is one aspect of being an author that I’m not looking forward to. Hopefully, four years marketing my patient education website taught me something.

I don’t know if there are any published folk out there reading this, but if so (or you have other marketing experience), what did you think of this article? What have you found useful in marketing your product? Inquiring minds want to know.

